© 2019 by FrancoFEST

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - Cercle blanc
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc

The Centre francophone Hamilton present
 the festival FrancoFEST

LINE-UP

Traditional-folk 

ALSB is a band that is hard to put a label on. Following the momentum of their critically acclaimed debut album À lʼétage des funambules (2012), ALSB continues to delight and confound with their new album Entre Nous (2016). The fact is, ALSB is not concerned with such limiting concepts as genre – they simply go where their musical curiosity takes them. Like monkeys, they rely on their curiosity and let themselves be led. ALSB makes its mark in Toronto clubs, they attract their audience by playing rereads of great French classics through a kaleidoscope of influences.

Pop-Jazz

AMÉLIE & LES SINGES BLEUS

LES RATS D'SWOMPE

Originally from Northern and Eastern Ontario, Les Rats d'Swompe is proud French-speaking Canadian band which has come together to share their passion for the traditional violin and the musicality of the past. Based in Ottawa, the musical trio is composed of Yan Leduc, Martin Rocheleau and Patrick Pharand. Since the release of their brand new album "Vivre en ville" in March 2018, the title song has continued to make its way on Francophone radio stations across the country. Their festive trad-rock atmosphere is created by an alliance of electric guitar, drums, banjo and mandolin. A solid show with an energy that is both wild and engaging!

Traditional folk-rock

Diogo Ramos is a singer-songwriter from Sao Paolo, Brazil. Having studied music, especially guitar, since he was a child. He left Brazil in 2010 to settle in Montreal where he obtained the title of Bachelor of Guitar Performance. Discovered on the Montreal music scene, he collaborated with artists such as Paulo Ramos, Bia Krieger, Flavia Nascimento and Rommel Ribeiro. In 2018, he released his album "Samba sans Frontières", where he paid tribute to his adopted country by performing songs by Gilles Vigneault, Félix Leclerc, Pierre Perreault and his Portuguese and French compositions: it's Franco Bossa-Nova!

DIOGO RAMOS

Francophone bossa-nova

After the success of their first EP "PERCEPTION", UNI-T returned to the music scene with their second album "A.L.P". Hits like Confidence, #QueDesLikes and Snapchat continue to galvanize crowd during their performances. The new album heralds a promising start with more than 1.2 million views on social networks. The band offers an album full of exotic rhytmics, all in a beautiful symbiosis between Hip Hop, EDM and AfroTrap, which allows them to reach a more diverse audience. Acclaimed by the FrancoFEST audience, they are back on our stage this year!

UNI-T

Hip-Hop-EDM-AfroTrap

57128335_2151088311627359_42931297028323

UNI-T

Entertainment

STEF PAQUETTE

As a Franco-Ontarian singer-songwriter, actor, comedian and now politician, from Sudbury, Stef Paquette loves the stage as much as his audience. As a multi-faceted artist, Stef Paquette will host this year’s event and set the stage for our visiting artists and festivalgoers alike.

Experimental percussions

DAVE GOULD

Dave Gould is a visual and sound artist who borrows and mixes many artistic media. He has performed as a percussionist in various groups in Ottawa (Prince Edward Island) and Hamilton (Canada). For the past 8 years, he has been creating his own instruments from rare and unique objects such as whale bones, caribou antlers and antique toilets. He can be seen performing solo on his handmade instruments or as a singer-songwriter on his guitar... Nominated several times for the Hamilton Music Awards, he received the Hamilton Arts Award in 2013 for his talents as a drummer and percussionist. 

HAMILTON YOUTH STEEL ORCHESTRA

The Hamilton Youth Steel Orchestra (HYSO) was founded in May 2004 by Karen Nelson and Cathy Ferreira. Both of them continue to co-lead the program on a voluntary basis. HYSO is a core music program whose mission is to use music to influence the social development of Hamilton's children and youth. You'll remember their wild rhythm!

Percussions

YOUNG TALENTS

This year, FrancoFEST is celebrating its young talents! The Gabriel-Dumont High School (ON) band, winner of the Coup de Coeur FrancoFEST award at the Monde le son festival, the Toronto West High School band (Viamonde School Board), the talented Sarah Jubinville of SMB Brantford Catholic Elementary School, the young slammers of Dialogue Plus and the Notre-Dame Catholic Elementary School Choir (Mon Avenir School Board) will take to the festival stage alongside our professional artists. Come and cheer on our promising young artists!  

Talent Show

Compagnie de danse

BOUCHARDANSE

A company dedicated to artistic research, creation and presentation of works, BoucharDanse often combines dance and theatre by developing powerful and meaningful interactions between these two forms of art. While maintaining its ties to English-speaking communities, BoucharDanse continues to build important and solid relationships with the Francophone artistic community. Their latest performance, "Les Moutons" will surprise you...

TREVOR COPP

Trevor is a heterogeneous artist: mime, Latin and ballroom dance competitor. He co-invented a neutral form of dance between partners at the TEDx conference. He moved from streetbuskering to professional mime, creating and turning his solo physical show "Searching for Marceau". He has taught and coached numerous dance companies around the world as well as university theatre departments in Guelph, Waterloo, Niagara, Brock and McMaster. He has received the Burlington Artist of the Year Award, the Ontario Artist Presenter of the Year Award and the Chalmer's Fellowship Award. 

Mime artist, dancer

ULTIMUTTS

Stunt dogs and cats

The unique talent of dogs (and cats) guarantee an amazing show that includes incredible performances such as brisk walking, walking on tightrope, walking on hind legs, skateboarding, scooters, piano, basketball slam dunk and more! Melissa Millett rescues and trains abandoned animals to become superstars in her show. You loved them, they're coming back this year! 

MARCO LE CLOWN

Clown

Marc Proulx, also known as Marco the Clown, is dedicated to creating smiles. Originally from Brandford, Ontario, Marco began to consider working as a clown as a teenager after going blind. Over the past ten years, he has perfected his mastery of juggling, humour, singing, dancing, sleigh rides and has finally found his way into people's hearts. He also practices ventriloquism, with characters such as Grover de Sesame Street and Bruno, a Labrador of his own making. His guide dog, Félix, also participates in the show.

© 2019 par FrancoFEST

  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - Cercle blanc
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc

Le Centre francophone Hamilton vous présente le festival FrancoFEST

PROGRAMMATION

Folk-traditionnel

Amélie & Les Singes Bleus est un groupe difficilement étiqueté. Suivant l’élan de leur premier album À l’Étage des funambules (2012), ALSB (pour les initiés) continue d’enchanter et de surprendre avec leur nouvel album Entre Nous (2016). Voyez-vous, ALSB ne se tracasse pas avec des concepts musicaux que l’industrie impose souvent, comme pouvoir épingler le genre musical. Tout comme des singes, ils se fient à leur curiosité et se laissent mener. ALSB se fait les griffes dans les clubs de Toronto, ils attirent leur public en jouant des relectures de grands classiques Français à travers un kaléidoscope d’influences.

Pop-Jazz

AMÉLIE & LES SINGES BLEUS

LES RATS D'SWOMPE

Originaires du Nord et de l’Est ontarien, Les Rats d'Swompe sont de fiers Canadiens francophones rassemblés pour partager leur passion du violon traditionnel, des chansons à répondre et de la musicalité d’antan. Basé à Ottawa, le trio musical est composé de Yan Leduc, Martin Rocheleau et Patrick Pharand. Depuis le lancement de leur tout nouvel album « Vivre en ville » en mars 2018, la chanson-titre ne cesse de faire son chemin sur les radios francophones partout au pays. C’est dans une atmosphère trad-rock festive que s’ajoutent une guitare électrique, une batterie, un banjo et une mandoline. Un solide spectacle avec une énergie à la fois sauvage et attachante.

Rock-folk traditionnel

Diogo Ramos est auteur-compositeur-interprète, originaire de Sao Paolo au Brésil. Ayant étudié la musique, spécialement la guitare, depuis son plus jeune âge, c'est en 2010, qu'il quitte le Brésil pour s'établir à Montréal où il obtient le titre de Bachelier en interprétation guitare. Il est remarqué sur la scène musicale montréalaise en collaborant avec des artistes tels que Paulo Ramos, Bia Krieger, Flavia Nascimento ou encore Rommel Ribeiro. 2018 voit la parution de son album « Samba sans Frontières », où il rend hommage à son pays d’adoption en interprétant des chansons de Gilles Vigneault, Félix Leclerc, Pierre Perreault et ses compositions où le portugais et français s’entremêlent: c’est la franco bossa-nova !

DIOGO RAMOS

Bossa-nova francophone

Après le premier EP «PERCEPTION», le trio UNI-T revient sur la scène musicale avec son deuxième album «A.L.P». On y retrouve des tubes comme Confiance, #QueDesLikes et Snapchat, qui continue à faire ravage durant leurs prestations. Le nouvel album annonce un début prometteur avec déjà plus d’ 1.2 millions de vues dans les réseaux sociaux. Le groupe propose un album rempli de rhytmiques aux couleurs exotiques , le tout dans une belle symbiose entre le Hip Hop, le EDM et l’AfroTrap, ce qui leur permet d’atteindre un public plus diversifié. Plébiscité par le public de la FrancoFEST, ils sont de retour sur notre scène de cette année !

UNI-T

Hip-Hop-EDM-AfroTrap

57128335_2151088311627359_42931297028323

UNI-T

Animation

STEF PAQUETTE

Chanteur, auteur, comédien, humoriste, interprète franco-ontarien jusqu’à politicien, originaire de Sudbury, Stef Paquette aime la scène autant que son public. Artiste aux multiples facettes, Stef Paquette assurera l’animation de l’évènement et saura créer l’ambiance des festivités.

Musique expérimentale

DAVE GOULD

Dave Gould est un artiste visuel et sonore qui emprunte et mélange de nombreux médiums artistiques. Il s'est produit en tant que percussionniste dans diverses formations d'Ottawa (Île-du-Prince-Édouard) et de Hamilton (Canada). Depuis 8 ans, il crée ses propres instruments à partir d'objets rares et uniques comme des os de baleine, des bois de caribou et des toilettes anciennes. On peut le voir se produire en solo sur ses instruments faits à la main ou en tant qu'auteur-compositeur-interprète sur sa guitare... Nominé plusieurs fois aux Hamilton Music Awards, c'est en 2013 qu'il reçoit le Hamilton Arts Award pour ses talents de batteur et percussionniste. 

HAMILTON YOUTH STEEL ORCHESTRA

Le Hamilton Youth Steel Orchestra (HYSO) a été fondé en mai 2004 par Karen Nelson et Cathy Ferreira, qui continuent toutes deux de co-diriger le programme, à titre bénévole. HYSO est un programme de musique de base qui a pour mission d'utiliser la musique pour influencer le développement social des enfants et des jeunes d'Hamilton. Vous vous souviendrez de leur rythme endiablé !

Percussions

JEUNES TALENTS

Cette année, la FrancoFEST célèbre ses jeunes talents ! Le groupe de l’école secondaire Gabriel-Dumont (ON), gagnant du Prix Coup de Cœur FrancoFEST du festival Monde le son, le groupe de l’école secondaire Toronto Ouest (Conseil scolaire Viamonde), la talentueuse Sarah Jubinville de l’école élémentaire catholique SMB Brantford, les jeunes slammeurs de Dialogue Plus et la chorale de l’école élémentaire catholique Notre-Dame (Conseil scolaire Mon Avenir) monteront sur la scène du festival aux côtés de nos artistes professionnels. Venez nombreux applaudir nos jeunes artistes prometteurs !  

Spectacle de talents

Compagnie de danse

BOUCHARDANSE

Compagnie dévouée à la recherche artistique, à la création et à la présentation d’œuvres, BoucharDanse allie souvent la danse et le théâtre en développant des interactions percutantes et significatives entre ces deux formes d’art. Tout en maintenant ses attaches aux communautés anglophones, BoucharDanse ne cesse de bâtir des relations importantes et solides avec le milieu artistique francophone. Leur dernière performance, "Les Moutons" à de quoi vous surprendre...

TREVOR COPP

Trevor est un artiste hétéroclite : mime, ancien compétiteur de danse latine et de danse de salon. Il a co-inventé une forme neutre de danse entre partenaires à l'occasion de la conférence TEDx. Il est passé du streetbuskering au mime professionnel, créant et tournant son spectacle physique solo "Searching for Marceau". Il a enseigné et coaché de nombreuses compagnies de danse à travers le monde ainsi que les départements de théâtre universitaires de Guelph, Waterloo, Niagara, Brock et McMaster. Il a reçu le prix de l'artiste de l'année de Burlington, le prix de l'artiste présentateur de l'année de l'Ontario et le prix Chalmer's Fellowship. 

Artiste mime, danseur

ULTIMUTTS

Chiens cascadeurs

Les talents uniques de chiens (et de chats) garantissent un spectacle unique en son genre comprenant des performances incroyables telles que la marche sur corde raide, la marche sur pattes arrières, le skateboard, les scooters, le piano, le basketball slam dunk et plus encore ! Melissa Millett secoure et entraîne des animaux abandonnés afin d'en faire les superstars de son spectacle. Vous les aviez adoré, ils reviennent cette année ! 

MARCO LE CLOWN

Animations pour enfants

Marc Proulx, également connu sous le nom de Marco le clown, a pour mission de créer des sourires. Originaire de Brandford, Ontario, Marco a commencé à envisager de travailler comme clown à son adolescence, après être devenu aveugle. Au cours des dix dernières années, il a perfectionné sa maitrise du jonglage, de l’humour, du chant, de la danse, de la carriole et a fini par se frayer un chemin dans le cœur des gens. Il pratique également la ventriloquie, avec des personnages tels que Grover de Sesame Street et Bruno, un Labrador de sa propre fabrication. Son chien-guide, Félix, participe également au spectacle.