6 Victorian beauties on Macnabin Hamilton Photo Nathalie Prezeau.JPG

TOP-10 things to do while visiting Hamilton

Hamilton is in full swing! Throughout the city, great improvement projects promise to add to the pleasure of living or visiting “The Hammer”. Rest assured, new developments will not affect the running of FrancoFEST Hamilton 2022.

 

Here are ten suggestions for making the most of your visit, during FrancoFEST Hamilton (held June 17 and 18, 2022) or throughout the summer.

Text by Nathalie Prézeau. Photo credits: Nathalie Prézeau.

01 - Gage Park

Since 2010, FrancoFEST Hamilton has taken place in the beautiful Gage Park (1000 Main St E), on the side of Gage Avenue. This section of the park is remarkable for its turquoise bandshell (Gage Park Bandshell) built in 1947, and its island of century-old trees.

 

In 1918, the City bought the huge park from the estate of lawyer Robert Gage, in 1922, it added the large central greenhouses (completely rebuilt in 2019). They can be visited every day from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

 

In 1926, Eugenia, Gage's daughter, made a donation to erect the superb fountain in the park. Architect John Lyle, to whom Toronto owes its Union Station and the Alexandra Theatre, is responsible for the design of this beautiful fountain, adorned with sculptures in the round and surrounded by bronze turtles.

 

In the Gage family home, the City eventually installed the Hamilton Children's Museum. It  is currently closed in 2022, and is in the process of benefiting from major renovations, as are the paths that criss-cross Gage Park. Families can, however, take advantage of the large playground and its refreshing splash pad near Gage Avenue. Bring your bathing suits!

02 - Cafe Baffico

Although only 260 yards from the North East entrance to Gage Park (and 10 minutes from the FrancoFEST action), the tiny Cafe Baffico (1375 King St E) is easy to miss. But what a good place to remember in Hamilton!

Well hidden in its quiet little corner, it has excellent bakery. They serve excellent coffee and offer a variety of delectable donuts (including perfectly cooked “fritters”), which can be enjoyed on their terrace. Note that Cafe Baffico is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays.

03 - Escarpment stairs

For a real workout, rewarded with a breathtaking view of the whole city, take one or other of the long metal stairs that connect the bottom of the escarpment to the top of the cliff.

 

You can reach the Wentworth Stairs (498 steps, separated by the Sherman Access), by walking 1.8 km on Cumberland Avenue west of Gage Avenue (almost up to the turquoise bandshell) . The Kenilworth Stairs (387 steps, separated by the trail, including a bike ramp) are 2.2 km east of the park. To get there, take Lawrence Road, south of Gage Park, then head east to Huxley Ave S, which you will climb to King St E, where you will turn right. Go over the overpass, then walk down Kenilworth Ave S, keeping your left on Kimberly Drive. The stairs will be visible a little further east.

These two metal stairs are 3.5 km apart on the Escarpment Rail Trail. The former CN rail line was converted into a trail in 1993. It is lined with trees providing welcome shade areas in summer.

 

Note that there are three other stairs to the west of Wentworth Stairs: James St Stairs (227 steps), Dundurn Stairs (326 steps), and Chedoke Stairs (289 steps, including a bike ramp).

04 - Uli stairs

When walking on the Escarpment Rail Trail, south of the Kenilworth Stairs, in a few places you come across rustic stone stairs called Uli Stairs. This way of exploring the Niagara Escarpment in Hamilton is so original that it has been listed on the Atlas Obscura site. Quite an honor!

 

It is the Herculean retirement project of one man, Ulrich, Austrian by origin. Built mainly with cut stones lined with branches, these stairs are reminiscent of Mexican ruins or even old paths that one would find in Provence. Yet they are relatively recent, completed in 2007.

 

Take them with caution from the escarpment trail (three of them go down and one goes up to Fennell Ave E). The City of Hamilton has posted signs advising people to borrow them at their own risk. But it's worth a look!

05 - James St North

Most of the interesting restaurants and cafes in Hamilton are spread out over a kilometer of James Street North, between Gore Park and Immigration Square, and a few side streets, including King William Street and Cannon St E.

 

It's worth reading the reviews on Google Map for each of these to discover the eclectic offer! Among our favorites, from north to south: the Italian classic Castelli Cucina with its beautiful street terrace, the tongue-in-cheek Martello with its large rear terrace and its weekend brunch, the bohemian wine bar Synonym with its tray of charcuterie, the friendly Portuguese Dunas Verdes, the elegant Mexican with “new age” looks Mesa, the very funky neighbors Brain Bar and Mulberry Coffeehouse, the industrial chic of the café Saint James, the “burger joint” The Burnt Tongue, the handsome Bread Bar with its irresistible pizzas, the very urban Mexican The Mule, the very decadent Hambrgr, and the Redchurch Café, in one of Hamilton's prettiest buildings, not far from Gore Park on King St E… to name only a few!

06 - Victorian beauties 

Speaking of beautiful buildings, Victorian beauties can be seen in a row around the Macnab Terrace Guest House (256 Macnab St N), in the historic section north of Barton St W.

 

200 yards away, on the southwest corner of Barton and Park St N, is the stunning Italianate Victorian Bellwether House from 1870, listed on Airbnb. Don't miss the Instagrammable Wish you were here mural on its sides.

07 - Hutch's Harbour Front

Served in a greasy brown paper bag, the fries at Hutch's Harbor Front (325 Bay St N) take us back to the 1950s. childhood add to the illusion. Note that they only accept cash.

 

Hutch's Harbor Front is at the entrance to Bayfront Park, featuring a large parking lot and a 1.5 km loop trail facing the bay. You could also follow the Waterfront Trail south of Bayfront Park and reach the stairs leading to the top of the McQuesten Bridge in 30 minutes to admire the panoramic view.

08 - Hamilton Waterfront

Things are happening around the Williams Fresh Cafe at the Hamilton Waterfront!

 

The Bayside Cafe (housed at 47 Discovery Drive, accessible at the end of James St N) is open daily from 8am to 10pm (they serve breakfast until 11:30am). But life really resumes at the end of May, during the weekends, then every day during the summer. See the Hamilton Waterfront website for full details on its many activities.

 

You can rent four-wheel skates to frolic on their outdoor track (with DJ sessions). There are also Music on the Waterfront's free jazz concerts on Thursdays.

 

You can rent tandem, side-by-side or quad bikes (the funniest way to explore the waterfront!). The Waterfront Trolley's trackless train offers a 12 km guided tour (to Princess Point), to learn more about the surrounding area.

09 - Promenade Park

The new boardwalk officially opened in April 2022. All new, all beautiful (very beautiful)!

 

Located not far from the warship HMCS Haida (which will be open for summer 2022), Promenade Park is part of the first phase of a massive new development that plans to erect 1,500 residential units, including a 45-storey tower. A story to follow...

 

This map shows all of the new public facilities that run 500 meters from the water's edge. The Corden metal structures (pre-rusted) echo the industrial district that extends to the east. These include the Hammer Harbor (for farmers markets, concerts, movie nights, etc), The Landing (in between, with), and the boardwalk, complete with Swedish lounge chairs and a nice playground.

10 - Collective Arts Brewing

As soon as you leave Pier 8 and head east, you are right in the heart of Canada's steel industry! The panorama is strange to city dwellers accustomed to residential areas.

 

Factory chimneys belch white smoke above buildings with mysterious structures. Huge tanks and warehouses follow one another along Burlington St E, which becomes Nikola Tesla Blvd before joining the QEW highway.

 

The Industrial Estate and Collective Art Brewing (207 Burlington St E) really do well together in this last stop before leaving Hamilton.

 

The quirky brewer has gotten us used to associating its beers, ciders and beverages (including refreshing fruity sparkling 5% alcohol teas) with street art. Every four months, they rotate the art that features on their products to showcase new work by emerging artists from around the world. They regularly invite artists to tender on their site.

 

In their Hamilton brewery, they went a step further by dressing their large walls with huge colorful murals by world-class artists: Ola Yolo, Bruno Smoky, Vidam, Shalak Attack, Mosher, Peru143, Chris Dyer, Cone the Weird is his accomplice Rookie the Weird. This gives a superb open-air art gallery contrasting with the surrounding greyness.

 

Inside their shop, they have a small room with tables, the walls lined with shelves displaying hundreds of bottles and cans of different designs. What a look!

 

During the summer season, they open a vast outdoor “beergarden” (Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday from 4 p.m. to 10 p.m., Saturday from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m. and Sunday from 11 a.m. to 8 p.m.). A perfect complement to a beautiful summer day.

BONUS ! Are you looking for a place to stay while visiting Hamilton? Book a room at Stoney Creek's Comfort Inn in FrancoFEST Hamilton's name, and benefit from a unique rate!

STAYCATION !.png

6 Victorian beauties on Macnabin Hamilton Photo Nathalie Prezeau.JPG

TOP-10 de suggestions pour votre visite à Hamilton

Hamilton est en pleine ébullition! Aux quatre coins de la ville, de grands projets d’amélioration promettent d’ajouter au plaisir de vivre ou de visiter “The Hammer”. Soyez rassurés, les nouveaux développements n’affecteront le déroulement de la FrancoFEST Hamilton 2022

 

Voici dix suggestions pour profiter pleinement votre visite, durant la FrancoFEST Hamilton (tenue les 17 et 18 juin 2022) ou tout au long de l’été. 

Texte par Nathalie Prézeau. Crédits photos: Nathalie Prézeau.

01 - Parc Gage

Depuis 2010, la FrancoFEST Hamilton se déroule dans le superbe Gage Park (1000 Main St E), du côté de l’avenue Gage. Cette section du parc est remarquable pour son abri d’orchestre turquoise (Gage Park Bandshell) construit en 1947, et son îlot d’arbres centenaires.

 

En 1918, la Ville achetait l’immense parc de la succession de l’avocat Robert Gage, en 1922, elle ajoutait les grandes serres centrales (entièrement reconstruites en 2019). On peut les visiter tous les jours de 9h à 17h.

 

En 1926, Eugenia, la fille de Gage, a fait un don pour ériger la superbe fontaine du parc. L’architecte John Lyle, à qui Toronto doit sa Union Station et l’Alexandra Theatre, est responsable du design de cette belle fontaine, ornée de sculptures en ronde-bosse et entourée de tortues de bronze.

 

Dans la maison familiale des Gage, la Ville a éventuellement installé le Hamilton Children’s Museum. Celui-ci est fermé en 2022, et en voie de bénéficier de rénovations majeures, tout comme les sentiers qui sillonnent Gage Park. Les familles peuvent toutefois profiter du grand terrain de jeu et de sa rafraîchissante section de jets d’eau près de l’avenue Gage. Emportez les maillots!

02 - Cafe Baffico

Bien qu’il ne soit qu’à 260 mètres de l’entrée Nord-Est de Gage Park (et à 10 minutes de l’action de la FrancoFEST), le petit Cafe Baffico (1375 King St E) est facile à manquer. Mais quelle bonne adresse à retenir dans Hamilton! 

 

Bien caché dans son petit coin tranquille, on y fait de l’excellente boulangerie. Ils servent de l’excellent café et offrent tout un choix de beignes délectables (incluant des “fritters” cuits à la perfection), qu’on peut déguster sur leur terrasse. Notez que le Cafe Baffico est fermé les lundis et mardis.

03 - Les escaliers de l'escarpement

Pour un vrai “workout", récompensé d’une vue prenante sur toute la ville, empruntez l’un ou l’autre des longs escaliers de métal qui relient le bas de l’escarpement au haut de la falaise.

 

Vous pourrez rejoindre les Wentworth Stairs (498 marches, séparées par le Sherman Access), en marchant 1.8 km sur l’avenue Cumberland à l’ouest de l’avenue Gage (presqu’à la hauteur de l’abri d’orchestre turquoise). Les Kenilworth Stairs (387 marches, séparées par le sentier, incluant une rampe à vélo) sont 2.2 km à l’est du parc. Pour y accéder, prenez Lawrence Road, au sud du parc Gage, puis dirigez-vous vers l’est jusqu’à Huxley Ave S, que vous monterez jusqu’à King St E, où vous tournerez à droite. Passez par-dessus le viaduc, puis descendez Kenilworth Ave S, en gardant votre gauche sur Kimberly Drive. Les escaliers seront visibles un peu plus à l’est.

 

Ces deux escaliers de métal se trouvent à 3.5 km l’un de l’autre sur l'Escarpment Rail Trail. L’ancienne voie ferrée du CN a été aménagée en sentier en 1993. Elle est bordée d’arbres offrant des zones d’ombrage fort bienvenues en été. 

 

Notez qu’il existe trois autres escaliers à l’ouest des Wentworth Stairs: James St Stairs (227 marches), Dundurn Stairs (326 marches), et Chedoke Stairs (289 marches, incluant une rampe à vélo).

04 - Les escaliers Uli

Quand on se promène sur le sentier Escarpment Rail Trail, au sud des Kenilworth Stairs, on croise à quelques endroits des escaliers de pierre rustiques appelés Uli Stairs. Cette façon d’explorer l’escarpement du Niagara dans Hamilton est si originale qu’elle a été répertoriée sur le site Atlas Obscura. Tout un honneur!

 

Il s’agit du projet de retraite herculéen d’un seul homme, Ulrich, Autrichien d’origine. Construits majoritairement avec des pierres taillées bordée de branches, ces escaliers rappellent des ruines mexicaines ou encore de vieux sentiers qu’on trouverait en Provence. Pourtant, ils sont relativement récents, terminés en 2007. 

 

On les emprunte avec prudence à partir du sentier de l’escarpement (trois d’entre eux descendent et l’un remonte jusqu’à Fennell Ave E). La Ville d’Hamilton a installé des affiches avisant les gens de les emprunter à leurs risques et péril. Mais ça vaut le coup d’oeil!

05 - Rue James Nord

La majorité des restaurants et cafés intéressants dans Hamilton s’échelonnent sur un kilomètre de James Street North, entre Gore Park et Immigration Square, et quelques rues transversales, notamment King William Street et Cannon St E.

 

Il vaut la peine de lire les critiques sur Google Map pour chacun d’eux pour découvrir l’offre éclectique! Parmi nos coups de coeur, du nord au sud: le classique italien Castelli Cucina avec sa belle terrasse de rue, le pince-sans-rire Martello avec sa grande terrasse arrière et son brunch des weekends, le bohémien bar à vin Synonym avec son plateau de charcuterie, le sympathique portugais Dunas Verdes, l’élégant mexicain aux allures “new age” Mesa, les très funky voisins Brain Bar et Mulberry Coffeehouse, le chic industriel du café Saint James, le “burger joint” The Burnt Tongue, le beau Bread Bar avec ses pizzas irrésistibles, le très urbain mexicain The Mule, le très décadent Hambrgr, et le Redchurch Café, dans un des plus jolis édifices de Hamilton, non loin du Gore Park sur King St E… pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns!

06 - Belles victoriennes

Parlant de beaux édifices, on peut admirer de belles Victoriennes en rangée autour de la Macnab Terrace Guest House (256 Macnab St N), dans la section historique au nord de Barton St W.

 

À 200 mètres de là, au coin sud-ouest de Barton et Park St N, on trouve la superbe Bellwether House, de style victorien italianisant datant de 1870, listée sur Airbnb. Ne manquez pas l’instagrammable murale Wish you were here sur ses flancs.

07 - Hutch's Harbour Front

Servies dans un sac de papier brun graisseux, les frites de chez Hutch’s Harbour Front (325 Bay St N) nous plongent dans les années 50. Les banquettes à l’intérieur, le décor modeste, et un menu composé de tous les classiques de notre enfance ajoutent à l’illusion. Notez qu’ils n’acceptent que l’argent comptant.

 

Hutch’s Harbour Front se trouve à l’entrée de Bayfront Park, comprenant un vaste terrain de stationnement et un sentier en boucle de 1.5 km faisant face à la baie. Vous pourriez aussi suivre la Waterfront Trail au sud de Bayfront Park et accéder en 30 minutes aux escaliers menant en haut du pont McQuesten pour admirer la vue panoramique.

08 - Hamilton Waterfront

Il s’en passe des choses autour du Williams Fresh Cafe du Hamilton Waterfront!

 

Le café au bord de la baie (logé au 47 Discovery Drive, accessible au bout de James St N) est ouvert tous les jours de 8h à 22h (ils servent les petits-déjeuners jusqu’à 11h30). Mais la vie reprend vraiment dès la fin de mai, durant les weekends, puis tous les jours durant l’été. Il faut voir le site de Hamilton Waterfront pour tous les détails sur ses nombreuses activités. 

 

On peut louer des patins à quatre roues pour s’ébattre sur leur piste extérieur (avec séances de DJ). Il y a aussi les concerts de jazz gratuits de Music on the Waterfront les jeudis. 

 

On peut louer des vélos en tandem, en côte-à-côte ou à quatre places (la plus amusante façon d’explorer le bord de l’eau!). Le train sans rail du Waterfront Trolley offre une visite guidée sur 12 km (jusqu’à Princess Point), pour en apprendre plus sur les environs. 

09 - Promenade Park

La nouvelle promenade ouvrait officiellement ses portes en avril 2022. Tout nouveau, tout beau (très beau)!

Situé non loin du navire de guerre HMCS Haida (qui sera ouvert pour l’été 2022), Promenade Park fait partie de la première phase d’un nouveau développement gigantesque qui prévoit ériger 1,500 unités résidentielles, incluant une tour de 45 étages. Une histoire à suivre…

On peut voir sur ce plan l’ensemble des nouveaux aménagements publics qui longent 500 mètres du bord de l’eau. Les structures de métal Corden (pré-rouillé) font écho au quartier industriel qui s’étend vers l’est. Elles comprennent le Hammer Harbour (pour des marchés de fermiers, concerts, soirées cinéma, etc), The Landing (entre les deux, avec), et la promenade, dotée de chaises longues suédoises et d’un joli terrain de jeu.

10 - Brasserie Collective Arts

Dès qu’on quitte Pier 8 et qu’on se dirige vers l’est, on est en plein coeur de l’industrie sidérurgique du Canada! Le panorama est étrange aux yeux des citadins habitués aux zones résidentielles.

Les cheminées des usines crachent de la fumée blanche au dessus de bâtiments aux structures mystérieuses. Les immenses réservoirs et les entrepôts se succèdent le long de Burlington St E, qui devient Nikola Tesla Blvd avant de rejoindre l’autoroute QEW. 

La zone industrielle et Collective Art Brewing (207 Burlington St E) font vraiment bon mariage dans ce dernier arrêt avant de quitter Hamilton. 

Le brasseur original nous a habitué à associer ses bières, cidres et boissons (incluant les rafraîchissant thés fruités pétillants à 5% d’alcool) à l’art de la rue. Tous les quatre mois, ils font une rotation de l'art qui figure sur leurs produits pour présenter de nouvelles œuvres d’artistes émergents du monde entier. Ils font régulièrement des appels d’offre aux artistes sur leur site.

Dans leur brasserie de Hamilton, ils sont allé un cran plus loin en habillant leurs grands murs d’immenses murales colorées d’artistes de calibre international: Ola YoloBruno SmokyVidamShalak AttackMosherPeru143Chris DyerCone the Weird est son complice Rookie the Weird. Ce qui donne une superbe galerie d’art à ciel ouvert contrastant avec la grisaille environnante. 

À l’intérieur de leur boutique, ils ont une petite salle avec tables, aux murs bardés d’étagères exposant des centaines de bouteilles et cannettes au design différent. Quel coup d’oeil!

Durant la belle saison, ils ouvrent un vaste “beergarden” extérieur (lundi, mercredi, jeudi, vendredi de 16h à 22h, samedi de 11h à 23h et dimanche de 11h à 20h). Un parfait complément à une belle journée d’été.

BONUS ! Vous cherchez un hôtel ou rester dormir durant votre séjour ? Réservez au Comfort Inn de Stoney Creek au nom de FrancoFEST Hamilton, et bénéficiez d'un tarif préférentiel!

STAYCATION !.png